Canada Day

Canada Day (Canada Day) — this is the main state holiday , established in honor of the union of all British North American colonies into a single Dominion of Canada (the former name of the holiday — Dominion Day) on the basis of the Act of the British North America, which entered into force on on July 1 in 1867. On this day, the first colony in British North America — Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia and New Bronsuik, united in a confederation called the Dominion of Canada, marked the beginning of the existence of a new country.

Act of British North America, originally born four provinces, was still open to other colonies that later entered into a confederation. Having taken in the structure, one after the other 6 more provinces, Canada to the late 19th century, acquired modern shape. The process ended with the final formation of the Confederacy in 1949, when the tenth province of Canada was a former British Dominion of Newfoundland. Today, in addition to the ten provinces in Canada is made well and the three northern territories.

Act of British North America, which marked the birth of their time in the new state and personified for over a hundred years of its constitution was replaced by a new constitution Canada in 1982. Transfer the constitutional authority of the United Kingdom Canada occurred on Parliament Hill in Ottawa, where Queen Elizabeth II has announced a new document.

Canadians celebrate the birthday of the country with great enthusiasm. Many thousands of people take part in the festivities on Parliament Hill in Ottawa, the capital. Commonplace on the streets of Canadian cities on that day was closed to traffic transport. In all parts of the country held public ceremonies and parades, concerts and performances in the open air performances by choirs and orchestras. In many cities in the evening arranged luxury holiday fireworks.

In the province of Newfoundland and Labrador Canada Day is celebrated as Memorial Day. Residents of the province are given to this special day honors the memory of his countrymen who were killed on the battlefields of Europe during World War II.