Africa Day. Week of Solidarity with the Peoples of Non-Self-

In 1999, the UN General Assembly requested the Special Committee on Decolonization annually the Week of Solidarity with the Peoples of Non-Self-starting May 25 and ends with May 31.

Week was proclaimed in 1972 (resolution 2911 (XXVII)) as a starting May 25, the African Liberation Day, Week of Solidarity with the Colonial Peoples of Southern Africa, Guinea-Bissau and Cape Verde Fighting for freedom, independence and equality.

December 22 2004, the Assembly urged Member States to contribute to the efforts of the United Nations to the fact that during the Second International Decade of a world free from colonialism , providing full support to the Special Committee on Decolonization to achieve this goal.

In connection with the situation of American Samoa, Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, United States Virgin Islands, Guam, the Cayman Islands, Montserrat, Saint Helena, the Turks and Caicos Islands and Pitcairn Assembly reaffirmed the inalienable right of the peoples of the Territories to self-determination in accordance with the Charter of the United Nations General Assembly adopted the Declaration on the Granting of Independence to Colonial Countries and Peoples.

Assembly reaffirmed that there is no alternative to self-determination, and called upon the administering Powers in cooperation with the territorial Governments promote programs of political education in the territories, in order to ensure greater public awareness of their right to self-determination.

The Assembly also reaffirmed the responsibility of the administering Powers for the promotion of socio-economic development and the preservation of cultural identity territories, and also requested the Territories and the administering Powers to take all necessary measures to protect the environment of the Territories under their administration, in order to avoid any deterioration of ecological status.