Commonwealth Day

Commonwealth Day (Commonwealth Day) — an annual celebration of 54 member countries of the international community Commonwealth (up to 1947 — the British Commonwealth of Nations), an association of independent states of the former British Empire, recognizing the British monarch as a symbol of the free union.

Commonwealth Day is celebrated in the second Monday in March. The legal status of the Commonwealth of Nations defined the Statute of Westminster in 1931 (updated in 1947). There is a Commonwealth Secretariat, the annual conferences of the Commonwealth. In the UK, in the government created the post of Minister of the Commonwealth.

After the British Empire lost the 13 American colonies, leaving behind Canada, India, some possessions in the West Indies and a number of scattered and remote villages in the metropolis appeared two political lines. The first involves the orientation of expansion of British influence in India and the Far East.

The second line, along with the expansion of this influence (in the interests of British industry and government in order to save costs) allowed the development of self-government in the colonies, to prevent repetition of the War of Independence of the North American colonies.

In the Commonwealth of Nations the following States: United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Ghana, Malaysia, Singapore, Cyprus, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, Kenya, Zambia, Cameroon, Mozambique, Namibia, Malawi, Malta, Gambia, Botswana, Guyana, Lesotho, Barbados, Mauritius, Swaziland, Nauru, Tonga, Western Samoa, Fiji, Bangladesh, Bahamas, Grenada, Papua — New Guinea, Seychelles, Solomon Islands, Tuvalu, Dominica, St. Lucia, Kiribati, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Zimbabwe, Belize, Antigua and Barbuda, the Republic of Maldives, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Brunei, Vanuatu.